Singapore 2009 Part 1

Solo backpacking – that’s what my Singapore trip was all about. I had my first solo flight in Sydney 5 years ago, so flying solo isn’t something new to me. I stayed with my cousins for a month. During weekdays when they have work, I would go sightseeing alone with my map and camera. I LOVED IT! It was an amazing experience considering it was my first out of the country trip and was young back then. Teehee! I will always remember that day, the experience was worth it! It feels liberating 🙂

maria-travels-singapore-2

Hookay back to SG. Arrived there last September 4 and thank heavens it was sunny! The last time I went to HK it was raining on our 3rd day. Eek! A friend who works in SG told me she’d pick me up at the airport when I arrived there but I thought, it’s not necessary. I told her I’d meet her at the MRT station instead of having her wait for me at the airport. Luckily, I found my way to the MRT station. Singapore is a small country, it’s very easy to navigate. Road maps are easily available and detailed.

First stop: Clarke Quay
Walked around Central Mall, stroll along night clubs/bars/resto at Clarke Quay. Took rivercruise/rivertaxi going to Merlion Park then walked accross Fullerton Hotel and Esplanade Theatre

maria-travels-singapore-3maria-travels-singapore-4

River Cruise
It’s a good introduction to the city. Scenic cruise down the Singapore River and soak in the tranquil ambiance – you get to see the Old; riverside, colonial buildings, shop-houses and the New Singapore – skyscrapers and Marina Bay.

maria-travels-singapore-5maria-travels-singapore-7

Merlion Park & The Fullerton Hotel
One can get beautiful views of Singapore’s colonial district when strolling in Merlion Park.

maria-travels-singapura-1

Esplanade Theatre & Marina Square
Night scenery of the Esplanade theatre and Singapore’s Marina Bay. You can take a nice stroll from the Fullerton Hotel to Esplanade. It is a premier theatre for performing arts, exhibitions, performances in Singapore.

maria-travels-singapore-10

Vivo City

National Geographic Store plus some other ♥ Oh yeah, it’s a mall, not a city!lol Didn’t know that this is the largest shopping mall in SG. Good thing, I included this in my itinerary list as one of the places to visit 🙂

maria-travels-singapore-11

Sentosa Island

Sentosa is a prime destination in SG which offers a varitey of attractions, museums plus other facilities to keep you busy all day. Beaches to chill out includes Siloso, Palawan and Tanjoing Beach. All three are artifical man-made beach reclaimed using sand bought from Indonesia and Malaysia. One can pander to activities like beach volleyball, skim boarding, rollerblading as well as canoeing. There are also fine dining and shopping outlets which you can enjoy. Hmmm.. to be honest, I didn’t like the beaches much. Now don’t get me wrong here, I think the place is beautiful but from where I come from the beaches are really a paradise with the classic white sand and beautiful sunsets. *cough Boracay cough Palawan* I must say that Philippines beaches are a tourist spot. Yes, really nice place, you should visit sometime. *wink* But I did enjoyed the Luge and teh Skyride, the view is fantastic from the top. Amazing view! The ticket’s quite pricey though but definitely worth it!

maria-travels-singapore-14maria-travels-singapore-15maria-travels-singapore-16maria-travels-singapore-17maria-travels-singapore-18maria-travels-singapore-19maria-travels-singapore-20maria-travels-singapore-21

Children Little Museum in Singapore

Items from 1950s to 1970s. It’s a shop more than just a museum itself. Interesting, fun and unique vintage shop located near Bugis Junction much closer to arab street. This place is nearby Sultan Mosque.

maria-travels-singapore-22maria-travels-singapore-25

Singapore Flyer at nightmaria-travels-singapore-26maria-travels-singapore-28

I wrote this back in April 2009. Crossposting it here for documentation purposes 🙂 」

header image credit to: irishtimes

Leave a Reply

