Shanghai, China 2009

Shang-high baby!

SHANGHAI – Definitely one of my favourite cities in the world. That’s why when Francis asked me to go with him, I immediately said yes. This has long been on my list of places to go. It is one of my life’s dreams to travel all over the world. I love going out, exploring new places and seeing everything. I want to get on the road just to see where it goes. I love trying out new things. I love exploring outside my normal genre, outside my comfort zone, out of Pilipinas. Don’t get me wrong, I ♥ my country even if there’s a lot of crap going on in the politics all the time. Oh well, that’s another story to tell but yes I’m proud to be a Filipino, always have always will 😉

Going back to China. They said Shanghai is the seventh largest city in the world and is a blend of cultural, commercial, financial, industrial, and communications centers. This means you can expect lots of skyscrapers, crowds, neon signage, illuminated towers, and some otherwordly looking buildings in the mix. This is one seriously pretty city to be driving through at night! One of the most cosmopolitan cities in the world.

I’m so excited for this trip that I can barely sleep.Haha I’ve been planning it for a long time, and I was glad to have finally experienced the Chinese culture to it’s fullest and see the beautiful people and history.

MNL-SH. Departure T3. There is something about airports and aircraft that leaves me feeling nostalgic. It always gets me excited every time I’m in one. I love the sights, I love watching people. I love the feeling – getting up, packing, traveling to the airport, going through security, looking at the board for schedules, getting on the airplane, watching tv, sleeping or reading magazines (inside the plane), taking off, landing. I just love it!

maria-travels-shanghai7

Arrival. Winter mode. 8 degrees. During our stay, I constantly wore 4-5 layers. It was hella cold! We arrived 12 past midnight and took a cab going to our hotel. After confirming our reservations at the lobby, went straight to our room, started unpacking our stuff, cleaned up and we then hit the sack because we have to wake up early for our first gig.

First stop. 3.4 mile-long Nanjing Road is a must-see metropolitan destination. The entirety of Nanjing Road has been a centre of commerce in Shanghai for more than a century, and is one of the world’s busiest shopping streets.

My favorite Spanish clothing brands

maria-travels-shanghai23maria-travels-shanghai24

We spend the morning wandering around. One of the things that we were able to witness is seeing local residents do their morning exercises on the square. Some of them perform Tai Chi exercise and dance to traditional Chinese music, others dances with swords. I sure had fun watching and taking pictures of them.

maria-travels-shanghai2maria-travels-shanghai4maria-travels-shanghai5

Our first meal of the day was supposedly trying out their local food but all the menus are written in Chinese. FAIL. So we settled to just dine in at Subway instead. They barely speak in English, we understand each other using sign language. Haha! It was a strange feeling but incredibly fun being in a country you don’t know well with all of these people around you speaking a language you can barely understand.

The Temple of City Gods. Cheng Huang Miao (in Shanghai) means a lot more than a temple – it’s a district where tourists can experience this historical marketplace amognst Ming-Qing architecture, traditional teahouses and hawker stalls, and a number of centuries-old famous restaurants.

maria-travels-shanghai8maria-travels-shanghai9maria-travels-shanghai11maria-travels-shanghai10

We also went to Yuyuan Bazaar which is located next to the Yuyuan Garden to buy some mementos and keepsakes to bring home. The bazaar has a lot of souvenir shops as well as teahouses, wine houses, snack bars, restaurants, a lotus pond, a zigzag bridge, and China’s Oldest Teahouse. Naloka kami sa dami ng tao lalo na dun sa zig-zagging footbridge near Yuyuan market. The bazaar and surrounding areas are a great place to stroll around, shop, snap photos and people-watch! I was able to try one of their local delicacies too, but I didn’t like it at all kaya McDo ang bagsak namin for our lunch! Hehe

Pudong Skyline as seen from The Bund. It was pretty smoggy and cold I could barely take pictures.

maria-travels-shanghai12

Oriental Pearl TV Tower – The tallest tower in Asia, and the third tallest tower in the world after the CN Tower in Toronto, Canada and the Ostankino Tower in Moscow, Russia.

There is a tunnel connecting the two banks of the Huang Pu River – The Bund Sightseeing Tunnel. It is a great way to get across the Huangpu River if you are on any side of the river and want to go to the other.

The Bund. “The New York City” of the East. If you love architecture like me, you will surely love it! The old stone buildings and walls are astonishing. A “1930’s downtown New York look”, The Bund is a 1.5-kilometer strip of grand structures, housing hotels and financial institutions. The architectural styles of these buildings are based on the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neo-Classical, Beaux-Arts, and Art Deco types.

maria-travels-shanghai13maria-travels-shanghai14maria-travels-shanghai15maria-travels-shanghai16

more outtakes

maria-travels-shanghai17maria-travels-shanghai19maria-travels-shanghai21

Eto talaga pinunta ko dito and the experience was worth it though I’m suuuper tired and my feet really hurt – a lot – from all that walking but the sights were awesome, I loved every minute of it! I even took photos of each building. Addict eh?

Sure Shang has fun things to do – shopping, nightlife, lots of places to go to, and great restaurants to eat at.

maria-travels-shanghai22

I still have a lot to tell and I haven’t ever really gotten to the good parts yet but let’s keep it for next week! I will get back soon!

maria-travels-shanghai3

Metropole Hotel Shanghai
Address: 180 Jiangxi Zhong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai,China
Area: The Metropole Hotel Shanghai is a short few minutes walk from the well known and large Nanjing Road shopping district. Henan Subway Station is just over 5 minutes walk away.

Shanghai in Four Days

Day 1
Nanjing Road
Pudong District
Oriental Pearl TV Tower

Day 2
Yu Yuan Garden and Bazaar Shanghai
The City God Temple or Temple of the City Gods of Shanghai
The Bund

Day 3
Hangzhou

Day 4
last minute shopping
Flew back in Manila

I wrote this back in April 2009. Crossposting here for documentation purposes 🙂 」

header image credit to: layoverguide

One thought on “Shanghai, China 2009

Leave a Reply

